RSS Feed

Mother’s Day

Since this was my very first Mother’s Day I wanted to make so I will always remember it. I received the nicest cards from my friends and family (and even my brothers) so I decided to keep all the cards and make them into a book. I didn’t have to purchase anything to create this keepsake because I already had everything I needed: paper doily, pink construction paper, glue stick, hole punch, ribbon and scissors. I arranged all the cards in the order I wanted them and made sure all the folded sides came together evenly. Then, I picked each one up and started punching holes in the spines (two holes in each card, one in the small cards). I folded my piece of construction paper in half and wrapped it around my card stack and trimmed whatever edges I didn’t want. (If you have fancy scissor that cut designs this would add to the piece). Then I punched holes in the construction paper, threaded my ribbon through it and it looked like this:

The cards should all be easily readable. Flip through it to make sure. And there is no right way to arrange the cards, some might do it smallest to largest and some might do it in order of importance (me). To each his own!

Once that is done, take your paper doily and arrange it however you want it on the cover. Depending on the size of the doily you might have to cut it (see picture below). Before gluing it down take your marker and write on it (I wrote: My 1st Mother’s Day with the year). Put some glue on the back of your doily (smooth part only or the glue will get caught in the “webbing” of the lace). Smooth it over the cover and there you have it, a Mother’s Day keepsake you can come back to each year and remember your very first year as a mommy!

Keep in mind that this idea is not just for Mother’s Day, you can use this throughout the year and throughout yours and your child’s life. For example, I saved all of Afton’s first birthday cards from close friends and family and I plan on making something similar for those. I also saved my husband’s cards from his first Father’s Day and I plan on doing this too!

About writerofthereal

I'm just a girl who fell in love in the fall with a great man and is reminded of my love with the changing of the leaves.

Leave a Reply

