RSS Feed

Tiny Handprints

This is a project we did when Afton was about six months old. I saw a variation of it on Pinterest when I was researching Father’s Day gift ideas (this will be a separate post) and thought it was a cute idea since our hallway wall is empty. I went to the local craft store and got a frame and a heavier sheet of paper to fit into the frame (I bought three pieces because I didn’t know how easy it would be or how many attempts it would take). The paint and marker I already had at home but you can buy the small acrylic bottles for about $0.50 each. First I will show you what it looks like, then I’ll walk you through the steps.

Ok first you put the baby down for a nap. Then you get your paper, paint and a paper plate. The hand print on the left is my husbands and the one on the right is mine. I have seen this done several ways, this is just the way I decided to do it. So we smeared the paint onto the plate and dipped our hands in it and got our prints on the paper (we did all three sheets so we wouldn’t have to do it again). I let the sheets of paper dry overnight. Then in the morning when Afton got up it was fun time! As you can see the handprints aren’t perfect but it was pretty hard getting a six-month-old to cooperate and not get paint everywhere at the same time. At first I was going to leave the paper blank with just our prints and at some point I was going to attempt to get the dog’s prints on it but my better judgement got the best of me. I looked high and low for a quote I liked and just wrote it on with a black sharpie. Here is the framed piece:

I know the quote isn’t perfect, I should have planned that out better but in the end it’s ours and I love all the imperfections it has. We will probably do another one when (if) the next baby comes along and update the frame.

About writerofthereal

I'm just a girl who fell in love in the fall with a great man and is reminded of my love with the changing of the leaves.

Leave a Reply

