RSS Feed

Afton’s First Birthday Party (Part 1)

When I thought about tackling a post about Afton’s first birthday party and all the DIY decorations and things I made for it, well frankly it made me out of breath, which is why I haven’t posted it. I knew sooner or later I had to post something on her party or all the hard work I put into it would not be documented. So to save myself (and you) a lot of headaches I decided to break it up into two possibly three posts. In this post you will see shots of all her party decor. It was almost a month ago now, how time flies, and it was held under a big wooden pavilion at a local park. It was a lovely warm and sunny day with a cool breeze (a nice break from the 90+ degree weather we have all been sweating through). Here are some photos of her day:

Happy Birthday, Afton!

Afton’s smash cake!

Cookies! Yum!

Ruffle cake!

Inside the cake: a pop of turquoise!

Party favors!

Table runners and center pieces

More vases!

Card basket and gift table

Photo table

 

High chair! This may look familiar!

It’s my party, I’ll cry if I want to.

This was Afton’s party in a nutshell. I can’t take any credit for the food at the party since we had it catered. The cake, cupcakes and cookies were made by some talented individuals I had the pleasure of working with for this party. They really got the look I was going for and didn’t look at me like I was crazy when I said the theme was: pink vintage shabby chic. The cookie lady just blew me away…all I told her were the colors I wanted and explained to her the textures I was using (twine, lace, glass jars, doilies, etc.) and she took it from there. I crafted the following items for her party: birthday banner, tissue flowers, favor bags, table runner, vases, chalkboard, rice krispie pops, doily stars (and I also made paper rosettes that, along with more doily stars were hanging from the trees outside the pavilion), card basket, gift table fabric, and photo table (this was supposed to be a photo banner but as we were setting up time just got away from us and it was either wear my set-up outfit or scrap the photo banner). In Part 2 of this post I will share more photos of these crafts along with have I created them.

Thanks for reading!

About writerofthereal

I'm just a girl who fell in love in the fall with a great man and is reminded of my love with the changing of the leaves.

Leave a Reply

